munin_ink
    Participant
    @munin_ink

Hey yall. I’m a freshman at the Art Academy of Cincinnati and I’m looking to get an apprenticeship with a local shop. Anywhere within a 45 min drive. If anybodys looking, or knows of a place I could apply, I’d be extremely grateful. ^_^ Thankee!!:D

Outlaw
    Participant
    @outlaw
    munin_ink;46633 wrote:
    Hey yall. I’m a freshman at the Art Academy of Cincinnati and I’m looking to get an apprenticeship with a local shop. Anywhere within a 45 min drive. If anybodys looking, or knows of a place I could apply, I’d be extremely grateful. ^_^ Thankee!!:D

the best way to gain an apprenticeship is to chose your artist, go in and get lots of ink done by him/her…. dont be pushy and give it loads of gob about how good you are and how long you have wanted to become a tattoo artist…
    he will need to get to know you and learn he can trust you, while getting tattood by them then you watch very carefully and learn as much as you can…. nobody and i repeat nobody can just shout out on the forums and land an apprenticeship…. it takes lots of dedication, devotion and passion for the art.

until that point then keep drawing your ass off and build up a portfolio of good work, nothing scribbled and everything precisely finished to your highest standards.

(i wrote this not as an unlicensed discussion, but as to how somebody interested in persuing a career in the tattoo world goes about it the proper way)

outlaw

S.Neill
    Participant
    @s-neill

Honestly, my business has picked up enough that I’m looking for an apprentice…and I’ve turned every single one down who has come in here to ask. They bring in some half ass drawings, with their cocky attitude, don’t have a penny to get ink done, and have no interest in even seeing my work. They just want to land a gig that pays real good.